Korea Electronic Travel Authorization (K-ETA) Required for Entering Jeju Island (Starting September 1, 2022)

  • 2022-08-26
  • Admin
■ Starting September 1, 2022 (KST), the foreign travelers who are from 112 K-ETA eligible countries (the nationals of visa waiver and visa-free countries/regions) are required to have K-ETA before boarding a Jeju bound flight/vessel from overseas.

○ Since visa-free entry to Jeju Island has resumed from June 1, 2022 (KST), Jeju Island became a target port of entry to the foreigners who were denied of K-ETA but attempting to enter the country without K-ETA. As a result, there were increased numbers of travelers trying to enter the country via Jeju without K-ETA. However, some ended up getting the entry denied and also others became undocumented residents after successfully entering the country via Jeju without K-ETA.

○ In this regard, the Ministry of Justice decided the implementation of K-ETA (Korea Electronic Travel Authorization) expanded nationwide including Jeju Island from September 1, 2022 (KST) after carefully reviewing the opinions from Jeju-si, Jeju Tourism Association and other relevant organizations.

○ This update regarding the implementation of K-ETA to Jeju bound foreign travelers applies to the travelers of 112 nationals from visa waiver and visa-free countries/regions. The foreigners who are not the nationals of the visa-waiver countries/regions (112 countries) are not included in this K-ETA requirement due to considering the opinions of negative influences to the tourism industry, and the special act of Jeju Island.